My World Right Now

It’s so strange, and a little mind-blowing, to realise how the world has changed and truly become a smaller place due to social media platforms and the wonder that is the internet.

On Thursday I participated in my first LIVE webinar. It was not my intention to participate, I was happily planning to lurk and take in as much as possible, but it happened that a question was directed my way and I ended up actively participating. I am so pleased that I had this opportunity!

The webinar was hosted by Fiona Beal and the topic was learning how to blog. I was very honoured that this blog featured in the webinar, as an example of what blogs can look like. Fiona asked me to give a little bit of input about my Posterous blog and why or how I use it. I was happy to be involved and excited to be an active participant in the webinar – only problem is, Fiona now wants me to present my own webinar sometime in the future! I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it…

While I was waiting for the webinar to begin, I popped in to my Twitter account to see what was happening. I saw a private message from a Canadian teacher I have recently followed and we got into a discussion about the stresses on teachers (same all around the world, it seems). She has a class Twitter account too, and her children are sending out daily Tweets, with ideas for making the world a better place. I think this is a great initiative and I reply to them each day! Follow @OneSingleAct and give them some feedback – they’d love to hear from you!

Then, on Saturday we held our second TeachMeet at Elkanah as well as the first iPadMeet (more on these later). While I was waiting for the proceedings to begin, I got into a conversation (on Twitter of course) with a teacher from America, one from Australia and a Maths tutor from Romania. We had a light-hearted discussion about non-educational things, but it was amazing – FOUR continents (Africa, America, Europe and Australia) represented in one conversation! We are now planning a pre-Christmas Skype session to “meet” each other properly! That is the power of Twitter.

About Karen Stadler

A teacher with 28-odd years' experience, who is passionate about ICT and all things technological! I am very interested in global classrooms, blogging, iPads and ICT integration. Always looking for new ideas, I am a lifelong learner!

Posted on November 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You write so well Karen. I thought the TeachMeet at Elkanah was great and it was WONDERFUL to have your input on the webinar. Thanks so much for popping in. I saw a post on a blog not too long ago about these teachers from different places that had got to know each other through social media and they had a Skype gettogether. Such a good idea. One of them even made a YouTube video about it called ‘Friends’ or something like that. I’ll try and source it for you. Bye for now Fiona

Leave a Reply

